$175 for the first $1,000 worth of construction.
$17 for each $1,000 up to $1,000,000
$13 for each $1,000 over $1,000,000
$100 per sign
A formal notice to stop all current work being performed.
A Building/Demolition Permit covers plumbing, electrical, mechanical, pools, air conditioning, decks, patios, driveways, roofs, siding, solar panels, fences, Affidavit, windows, athletic facilities
Anyone who owns a vacant building shall remove all combustible waste and refuse therefrom and lock, barricade or otherwise secure all windows, doors and other openings in the building to prohibit entry by unauthorized persons. The exterior of the premises and the condition of the structures shall be maintained so that the premises and all buildings shall reflect a level of maintenance in keeping with the standards of the community and shall not constitute blight from the point of view of adjoining property owners or lead to the progressive deterioration of the neighborhood. If you have any questions, please contact the Building Department.
Smoke alarms are required to be installed in the following areas: in each bedroom - outside each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms. On each additional story of a dwelling (basements and habitable attic), not including crawl spaces and uninhabitable attics). In dwellings or dwelling units with split levels and without an intervening door between the adjacent levels, a smoke alarm installed on the upper level shall suffice for the adjacent lower level provided that the lower level is less than on e full story below the upper level. Smoke alarms shall be installed not less than 3 feet (914mm) horizontally from the door or opening of a bathroom that contains a bathtub or shower unless this would prevent placement of a smoke alarm required by Section R314.3.
Carbon Monoxide alarms to be installed outside of each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms. Also, where a fuel-burning appliance is located within a bedroom or its attached bathroom, a carbon monoxide alarm shall be installed within the bedroom.
You will not be able to obtain a Certificate of Occupancy. The law provides that a Stop Work Order must be issued and fines may be imposed.
Permits are issued to fulfill legal mandates, to protect the heath and safety of the general public, and to ensure compliance with construction drawings, specifications, life safety codes, and generally accepted standards.
New York State Education Law requires stamped plans and specifications from a New York State licensed architect or professional engineer for the construction of any commercial work; for the construction of new residential dwellings exceeding 1599 square feet in areas not including garages, carports, porches, cellars, or uninhabitable basements, or attics. Although stamped plans may in some instance be required, detailed plans an specifications are still required.
A permits is a formal document authorizing initiation of some work or action on your home or property that is subject to code regulations.
$50 per tree
A Significant Tree is any tree that is 12 inches or greater in diameter at breast height.
No tree is to be removed until a tree removal permit has been issued! One must first apply for a Tree Removal Permit where the Building Department will determine the application completeness. After that an application referral, review and staff report will take place. Then public notices will be distributed and public hearings will be held regarding the tree removal. Finally, decisions and findings will take place regarding the tree removal. Once all of this is complete and satisfied, then a tree removal permit will be issued. If you have any additional questions please contact the Building Department directly.